Chamber Blog

GR Chamber PAC Announces 2018 Endorsements

GR Chamber Endorses Brian Calley for Governor

The Friends of West Michigan Business select candidates for Michigan Senate, GRPS Board of Education, & GRCC Trustee

Grand Rapids – Today, the Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce Political Action Committee (PAC), the Friends of West Michigan Business, announced its candidate endorsements for Michigan State Senate, Grand Rapids Public Schools Board of Education, and Grand Rapids Community College Trustee. Endorsements were based on candidate questionnaires, interviews and past performance for incumbents.

“The Chamber PAC endorses candidates who will advocate for policies that support economic growth and a thriving business climate,” said Chamber President & CEO Rick Baker.

“Talent is top of mind for our members and electing officials who will enhance our talent pool and workforce is crucial for the continued development of West Michigan and Grand Rapids,” said Andy Johnston, Vice President of Government Affairs for the Grand Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce.

“In the race for GRPS Board of Education, incumbent members Tony Baker and John Matias, and new candidates Kymberlie Davis, Chad Patton, and Kimberley Williams are the best choices to improve student outcomes,” said Baker. “It is clear that these candidates understand the issues that face our region and will be strong advocates for student growth.”

“It’s great to have four qualified candidates with diverse experiences running for the Grand Rapids Community College Board of Trustees. From these four candidates, the Chamber PAC has endorsed Kathy Crosby and Carlos Sanchez,” continued Johnston.

The Chamber PAC endorsed candidates for the Michigan Senate. “John Bizon for the 19th Senate district, Roger Victory for the 30th Senate district, and Jon Bumstead for the 34th Senate district has been endorsed as we felt they are committed to their continued work to boost the Michigan business climate” said Johnston.

The following endorsements have been made for the November election:

U.S. Senate:  John James                                   

U.S. House: District 2: Bill Huizenga

Governor of Michigan: Bill Schuette

Michigan Attorney General: Tom Leonard

Michigan House of Representatives:                                                        

District 61: Brandt Iden

District 70: Jim Lower

District 73: Lynn Afendoulis

District 74: Mark Huizenga

District 75: David LaGrand

District 76: Amanda Brand

District 77: Tommy Brann

District 80: Mary Whiteford

District 86: Thomas Albert

District 87: Julie Calley

District 88: Luke Meerman

District 89: Jim Lilly

District 90: Bradley Slagh

District 91: Greg VanWoerkom

District 100: Scott VanSingel                                                                                                                                                              

Michigan State Senate:

District 19: Dr. John Bizon

District 20: Margaret O’Brien

District 26: Aric Nesbitt

District 28: Pete MacGregor

District 29: Chris Afendoulis

District 30: Roger Victory

District 33: Rick Outman

District 34: Jon Bumstead                                             

Kent County Board of Commissioners:

District 1: Ted Vonk

District 2: Tom Antor

District 4: Diane Jones

District 5: Mandy Bolter

District 6: Stan Stek

District 7: Stan Ponstein

District 8: Harold Voorhees

District 10: Emily Post Brieve

District 11: Jim Saalfield

District 12: Monica Sparks

District 13: Jessica Ann Tyson      

District 14: Carol Hennessy

District 15: Jim Talen

District 18: Dan Koorndyk

GRPS Board of Education:

Kymberlie Davis

Kimberley Williams

Chad Patton

Tony Baker

John Matias

GRCC Trustee:                                                          

Kathy Crosby

Carlos Sanchez          

*Italics Denotes Incumbent

The following candidates are found to be qualified for the role:

GRCC Trustee:

Troy Williams

Sheryl Siegel

Paid for by the Grand Rapids Chamber Political Action Committee, 250 Monroe Ave NW, Suite 150, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

For more information or media inquiries, contact Andy Johnston, Vice President of Governments Affairs at 616.822.1878 or johnstona@grandrapids.org.

Anna Young Administrator
Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.
follow me

Leave a Reply